Man of the week : Phil Askew

Hey blog!! Meet Phil. This guy is up to grand things. Enjoy the conversation.
.

Phil Askew

.
Phil Askew CPCC is the authentic brand discovery coach. He works with change-makers in flux, to unfold and establish true ‘Personal Brand’ enabling them to answer the question of:  “Who am I REALLY, what’s important and how can I express this identity in the world?”
.
How do you serve the world?
.
Through Luminous Lives I work with people to drop their facades, build a business, to create a movement, to start THEIR revolution from the powerful position of understanding and embodying their personal brand. I facilitate transformation for my clients. From fear of being seen, through to bravely owning their natural skills and talents. ‘Personal Brand’ is the expression of themselves with authenticity and truth.
 .
Clients come to me when they feel detached from what’s meaningful to them; when they are in career flux; when they know they have a business idea inside, but lack the confidence or brand know-how to make this happen. They have prioritised other things over their dream, who are sick of the internal monologue: ‘Who am I to make a difference?’ but refuse to let that longing die.
 .

Phil at work

 .
How do you take care of yourself while serving the world? 
 .
I used to battle with this. Used to put so much energy out and not draw it back in. There was massive learning for me in the realisation. Its essential to find what fills you up and replenish your internal resource.
 .
For me, my natural reservoir is nature. I tap into it frequently. I love working with clients in nature, along the banks of the Thames in London, in woods and parks. There’s so much richness and vibrancy in the environment, so many reminders as to what’s important and true.
 .
I encounter a lot of coaches who are tired. Really tired. Through constantly helping and putting their energy out and not drawing it back in, particularly in the early days of building their business. Think of breathing, in then out, in then out. All-out just isn’t an option.
 .
What is the biggest lesson you have learned through being of Service?
 .
That no matter what our background and culture, at the core we all have the primarily the same needs and fears. The difference is the societal and family training that alters the appearance of how this is shows up. The masks are the same, the style and fit varies.
 .
It has become so apparent in my work with change-makers, that society really struggles accepting people who believe in themselves. The general consensus battles to keep the individual levelled, because it frightens the status quo. To me, it is diversity that encourages us to grow and evolve and curiosity in this that allows us to stay fascinated not judgemental.
 .
When you identify the cause you are willing to fight for, something that fires you up so much that you need to lead change on it, you’ve found your purpose. When you view everything through the lens of your purpose, life suddenly has focus.
 .
What and who inspires you? 
 .
Art, creative expression, cinema, story telling that acts as metaphor, that encourages many different perspectives and offers us new range. My clients, my friends and family and bears, my power animal!
 .
If you had 6 months left to live, what would you do?
That’s a surprisingly simple question but one which really makes me think, to prioritise, based on gut feel. What comes up for me straight away is travel. There’s so much beauty in this world I’ve yet to see. Experiencing new landscape, geography and culture wakes me up. Through it, I have greater understanding of myself.
.
I take a heck of a lot of photos whilst travelling I would especially, I adore photography and how it lets me capture an atmosphere, a resonant moment and share that with others. I use imagery, photography and visuals with clients a lot in our sessions. Oh and, of course, I’d eat in the worlds top 10 restaurants. Can’t beat incredible food!
 .
What is a favourite quote of yours? 
 .
“A ship is safe in harbour, but that’s not what ships are for.” – William Shedd
 .

Phil Askew

Phil offers a free consultation to change-makers running their own business and struggling to define their true personal brand. 
 .

You are luminous. Don’t hide in the shadows.

 .
Check who our last guest was here.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

